[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Re: [dq-rules] Shaping questions



On Fri, 29 Jun 2001 02:18:38 -0000, jcorey30@yahoo.com wrote:

>I have a bunch of questions about shaping magics, and I ma hoping you 
>guys can help me.
>
>1) Should the College of Shaping Magics Counter spells affect invested 
>items?  Should they remove or temporarily disable the investment?

No.  No.

>2)Can a shaper use The Ritual of Investment (32.3 the generic one) to 
>invest a spell from another spell caster? from another college? What 
>about using his own R-6?

The way I interpret things, Shapers don't even have the option of learning
the "generic" investment ritual.  Why would they bother learning it, when
their own is much better, and available as General knowledge?

You can only *invest* spells that *you* know.  To incorporate spells from
another College into an object, you need to Shape it (and have the other
Adept present), as per the rules.  (Or, of course, the other Adept learns
Investment and *he* invests it.)

>3) Could a string Golem know spells from more than one college?  Or 
>would he need the magician skill?

No (that's specifically indicated in the R&S Golem description).  As far as
I'm concerned, the Magician skill (I assume we're talking about the article
that appeared in Dragon magazine many years ago) is wrong, wrong, wrong, and
it has no existence in my game, so, not an issue <g>.

----------------------------------------------------------------
Bruce Probst              bprobst@netspace.net.au    ICQ 6563830
Melbourne, Australia      MSTie #72759
"Hey, someone turn off the fat rotating guy."
ASL FAQ              http://users.senet.com.au/~mantis/ASLFAQ