[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]
Re: [dq-rules] Magic Classification
>I seem to recall something about not being able to progress in
>Special Knowledge spells/rituals until a certain number of General
>Knowledge spells/rituals are known (to a certain rank) or something
>like that. Am I just getting confused, or are there such rules? If
>so, what paragraph
Please forgive me, I cannot recall this exactly as my DQ book is at a
friend's house and it's probably been ten years or so since I looked at the
rule. I think you are recalling the rule that says something like, "A
character may only know a number of spells and rituals at rank 5 or below
equal to his magical aptitude. He may know an unlimited number of spells at
rank six or above. General knowledge spells count towards this total."
I believe that paragraph is somewhere in section 34 under magic (in second
edition ... I am not even sure it exists in 3rd edition). Basically, the
situation would be unique for each spell caster depending upon his MA and
the number of spells in his college, but based on this rule there could be
times he would have to get a general knowledge spell to rank 6 before he
could learn a special knowledge spell.
Sorry I couldn't be exact as to the location of the rule, but my mind is
getting foggy in my old age :-)
Clark Goble
goble@bright.net